Day 38: Gluten Hangover

Yesterday when I ate gluten I felt mostly ok. I was so excited about feeling “ok” that I started making a list of the things I’d like to eat when I’m done with Whole 30: that pie in the freezer, chocolate chip cookies… then last night before bed I hit a wall. My head felt fuzzy and I was incredibly tired. Actually, it felt a lot like the “paleo flu” I got around Days 8-10.  I didn’t feel much better waking up this morning, either. My head felt stuffy and I was lethargic all day. I felt like a truck had run me over.  Then, at night while at a happy hour (where I didn’t eat or drink anything), I acquired a roaring headache.  Basically, I felt horrible all day from the neck upwards.

Here’s my gluten-carb takeaway: While my stomach feels fine (aside from feeling a little bloaty), gluten makes me feel pretty rotten. I feel tired and foggy. I feel WORSE than hungover. Will I never eat gluten again? Probably not, but I will think more than twice before eating it.

Lastly, now that I have tried gluten grains I understand just how good I feel in this “new normal” state on Whole 30.  Before doing this it wasn’t out of the ordinary for me to get headaches or feel bloated. Now I realize those don’t have to be “normal” occurrences,  certain foods seem to contribute to it.

How I felt: horrible from the neck upwards: stuffy foggy head, lethargic, mini migrane.  Basically, I had symptoms of a non-celiac gluten sensitivity.  It’s not clear if the NCGS is a real thing or not, but whatever it is, I had those symptoms.

What I ate:

Breakfast: 2 HB eggs and some roasted brussels. coffee with coconut milk

Lunch: leftover chili + sweet potato. More Brussels. 1/2 an apple

Snacks: Hazelnuts and dried mango

Dinner: plain burger w/o bun, salad.

No pics today!

Leave a Reply

