Day 32: Dairy

Today was my first food reintroduction: Dairy! I started the day with a medium Dunkin’ Donuts coffee with half-n-half.  I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top of my morning eggs.  I shaved some parmesan on my lunch salad.  I had a ricotta antipasti at dinner with roasted beets that also had some shaved grana padano.  I managed to sneak in dairy in small quantities for each meal to test the waters.  More on how I felt in a minute…

Just a fraction of the Bakery Extravaganza

Just a fraction of the Bakery Extravaganza

My willpower was tested to the max today, more than any time during Whole 30. I walked around my alma mater with a college friend before dinner in the town of Wellesley- and we stumbled upon a magical bakery festival in a residence hall courtyard.  The on-campus bakery hosted its annual festival, and there were tables of the most delicious looking treats: maple-bacon whoopee pies, mint carrot cupcakes, pumpkin truffles, cinnamon twists, pumpkin bars, chocolatey something-or-others, hot apple cider.  The environment (beautiful picturesque New England fall colors, the familiar stone-and-brick architecture, emotional memories) made me want to savor some of those treats. I had to decline all of it. Can you hear the tiny violin playing? Waaaaah.

A close-up of those pies. Ughhhhh...

A close-up of those pies. Ughhhhh…

For dinner, we ate at Alta Strada, a perfect meal for Whole 30 meets dairy. When I timidly asked the server some questions about ingredients, he interrupted with “Where do you think this is? It’s Wellesley! People hand me business cards with their dietary preferences!”  I didn’t feel so bad taking up his time to find out what oil they used after hearing that.  We started with three antipasti: Broccoli Rabe with garlic and chilies, Roasted Golden Beets with Grana Padano, and Ricotta with Crostini (I didn’t eat the Crostini).  For dinner I ordered Farm Raised Scottish Salmon with Roasted Fingerling Potatoes, Carrots, and Asparagus.  I can’t even begin to describe how delicious it was.

How I felt: Sh*t’s about to literally get real now that I’ve started reintroducing foods. Fair warning. My stomach was upset about 30 minutes after my first sip of coffee with cream.  About 30 minutes later I had to spend some time in the bathroom.  A few hours later I felt ok.  The rest of the day I felt fine, but never quite up to my “new normal” snuff.  I think that the cheese sat better with me than the half n’ half?  In any event, I am understand what my future opportunity cost of pizza looks like…

What I ate:

Breakfast: 3 egg scramble with spinach and tomatoes, a bit of cheese sprinkled on top. Coffee with half n’ half.

Lunch: Salad with shaved parmesan, 2 chicken sausages

Dinner: Apps (roasted beets with cheese, broccoli rabe, ricotta).  Salmon with fingerling potatoes, carrots, asparagus.  Apple!

Egg scramble with cheese and DUNKIN DONUTS COFFEE!

Egg scramble with cheese and DUNKIN DONUTS COFFEE!

2 Chicken brats and salad w/cheese

2 Chicken brats and salad w/cheese

Antipasti: broccoli rabe, beets, ricotta (I didn't eat the crostini or bread)

Antipasti: broccoli rabe, beets, ricotta (I didn’t eat the crostini or bread)

c

Salmon with carrots, fingerlings, asparagus

Salmon with carrots, fingerlings, asparagus

Leave a Reply

