Day 29: Travel Day 2

I just finished reading Wild, Cheryl Strayed’s memoir about hiking the Pacific Crest Trail.  Her money and food supplies dwindled between towns and resupply boxes, and she never knew if she’d have enough to eat or enough money or water to make it to the next town.  I realize my experience isn’t at ALL the same, but I feel like Cheryl Strayed while traveling and eating Whole 30: I never know when my next meal will be and whether there will be something Whole 30 compliant for me to have.

My conference didn’t start until noon, so I ate a really late breakfast from a place across the street from my hotel. I figured it would be helpful to eat later in case there wasn’t lunch food I could eat. My hunch turned out correct, and I skipped the sandwiches, cookies, potato chips, and creamy soup that were available. I filled up my plate with some mixed greens and fruit- the only items I could have.

After the conference I grabbed dinner at Grillfish, a farm-to-table sustainable place.  It was delicious and I was starving!!

How I felt: Fine, tired of snacking on dried fruit and nuts

What I ate:

Breakfast: 3-egg omelet with avocado and tomato

Lunch:  mixed greens and fruit

Snacks: dried mango, hazelnuts, beef stick, apple with almond butter

Dinner: grilled salmon with wilted greens, broccolini

Omelette with Avocado and Tomato

Omelette with Avocado and Tomato

Fruit and Greens

Fruit and Greens

Grilled Salmon with Wilted Greens and Brocollini

Grilled Salmon with Wilted Greens and Brocollini

Leave a Reply

