Day 15: Halfway

I can’t believe I’m already halfway through my Whole 30! I’ve been taking it one day at a time; sometimes I feel like a hunter-gatherer foraging for my next meal.  I read some blogs yesterday and I will adjust the next 15 days with:

  1. More protein
  2. More veggies with EVERY meal
  3. No Snacks
  4. Less Fruit

The four things above are based on my understanding of the Whole 30 program suggestions and a review of what I’ve been doing so far. The serving suggestions and snack elimination aren’t hard-and-fast rules, and I’ve been staying “on plan,” but I can see how these things are standing in the way of that “zen” state everyone talks about.

How I feel:  I’m back to a status quo of sorts, with a few notable exceptions. I don’t feel spikes in energy or periods of sluggishness during the day.  My cravings have shifted: from refined carbs and sugars to fruits, nuts, and nut butters.

What I ate:

Breakfast / Post-Workout: Cafeteria omelette with spinach, tomato, peppers; small sweet potato, black iced coffee

Snacks: dried mangos, dried apples, almond butter, nut mix (hazelnuts, cashews, pecans), fresh apple… a LOT of snacks.

Lunch:  Shredded chicken atop a cafeteria salad (greens, peppers, HB egg, cucumber, oil/vinegar) with Wholly Guacamole, an apple

Dinner:  Yellow Coconut Curry with summer squash, kale, chard, onion, peppers, broccoli.  2 chicken sausages. (A piece of fish would have gone much better with this meal- but I didn’t have any fresh on hand).  Banana with almond butter. One dried fig.

One of these days I will remember to take a picture before I stick my fork in and take a bite

One of these days I will remember to take a picture before I stick my fork in and take a bite

Surprise, it's another salad!

Surprise, it’s another salad!

Diggin' Deep on the Protein Options for this one.

Diggin’ Deep on the Protein Options for this one.

Leave a Reply

