Day 5: Dining Out, Take 2 and 3

I ate at restaurants twice on Day 5, which makes one time for each meal on the Whole 30!  Dining out has been fairly easy, but I have purposefully picked restaurants where I could find something to order.  It would be a lot harder- or impossible- had I went to Matt’s Bar or Hello Pizza.

I skipped a “pre-workout” meal again and ate a little more than I usually would for breakfast once I got to work. Thanks to Carolyn and Sara I had leftover spinach and sweet potato “quiche” and a couple mini homemade sausages.  I also finished off the baked squash from our dinner on Day 3.

It was a perfect Friday afternoon to have a long lunch so I had a downtown scooter adventure with a friend and we crossed the river to Brasa in Northeast Minneapolis. I ordered beef without BBQ sauce and a side of plantains.  This was the most difficult meal I had ordered so far- all of Brasa’s non-fried sides are stewed in butter or cream.  They use corn oil to fry food… which isn’t ideal.  The Whole 30 program allows me to eat vegetable oils in a pinch, and a “pinch” means restaurants:

While we don’t think vegetable oils are a healthy choice (understatement of the century), we don’t expressly rule them out on the Whole30. If we did, you’d never be able to eat outside of your own kitchen, because all restaurants use them in cooking. We wanted to create the healthiest program possible, but we also need it to be do-able for those who travel for business or pleasure, or simply want to dine out during the month.   – See more at http://whole30.com/2013/06/the-official-can-i-have-guide-to-the-whole30/

All of Brasa’s non-fried sides appeared to be stewed in butter or cream, so I decided that plantains were the best fried option since the only two ingredients were oil and the fruit.  I forgot to take a picture of this meal, but it was quite tasty!

I met some old friends for our monthly-ish dinner club.  It was my turn to pick a restaurant, so I chose the paleo/ Whole 30 friendly Agra Culture.  I had the “Arugula Detox” Salad with added Salmon for protein.  After dinner we went to Pig & Fiddle across the street where I watched my friends drink beers and eat other bar-foods.

How I felt: I skipped coffee again and had a terrible headache. I also notice I feel REALLY tired at the end of the day. As in heavy-eyes tired- take a nap at any moment kind of tired.  Is this the “wall” everyone talks about hitting?

What I ate:

Sausages, Squash, and "Quiche"

Sausages, Squash, and “Quiche”

Arugula Detox Salad w/Salmon

Arugula Detox Salad w/Salmon

Breakfast

  • Spinach Sweet Potato “quiche”
  • Leftover Squash

Snacks during the Day

  • Dried Apples
  • Cashews
  • the other 1/2 of the Coconut Cream Pie Larabar (I notice I really want these after I workout)

Lunch

  • Brasa beef with plantains

Dinner

  • Agra Culture’s Arugula Detox Salad with Salmon
Leave a Reply

