Day 3: InSpiralized

It’s only Day 3 and I already know I would not be able to get through my Whole 30 without my work cafeteria.  My caf is reasonably priced, has both a self-serve salad bar AND has a tossed salad bar line.  Oh, and they create made-to-order omelettes in the AM or grab-and-go hardboiled eggs when I’m pressed for time.

 

 

For lunch I made a salad in my caf…. then spotted it was “Fresh Catch” day at one of the grills. How could I have missed that?  For $7 I got a delicious piece of fresh salmon cooked to order with steamed broccoli and summer squash/zucchini.  I couldn’t resist the fresh salmon even though I’d already made a salad… so I ate the salad with half the salmon and saved the other half salmon and steamed veggies for tomorrow in a tupperware.  Leftovers rock!

 

 

Spiralizer in Action!

Spiralizer in Action!

 

 

That wasn’t even the best meal of my day.  My friends Carolyn and Sara made me dinner using my new Paderno Spiralizer.  I was inspired to do a Whole 30 after Carolyn and Sara tried it.  Carolyn also happens to be my favorite chef-friend; if I had enough money I would bankroll a restaurant for her to run.  She’ll have to stick to her day-job until I win the powerball, sorry Carolyn.

 

 

Carolyn and Sara made some “spaghetti” sauce with ground turkey, beef, tomatoes, eggplant, and a bunch of other veggies, which we ate over zucchini noodles (“zoodles”).  Additionally, we ate a home-garden-picked kale salad with tomatoes, cucumber, avocado, and kohlrabi.  Lastly, we ate baked Kabocha squash and had watermelon for “dessert.”  THIS is how a Whole 30 meal is supposed to be done.

 

 

 

How I feel:  Great! Apparently I am not as weaned off caffeine as I thought I was, so I drank black iced coffee in the morning to avoid an afternoon headache.  It was so tasty I almost didn’t miss my usual creamer.  Almost.

 

 

What I ate:

 

Breakfast:
  • 2 hardboiled eggs
  • black iced coffee
  • 1/2 banana with almond butter
Snacks during the day
  • dried apples with almond butter
Lunch
  • salad bar with salmon
  • 1/2 banana… with almond butter. I’m addicted.
Dinner
  • Meaty zucchini “spaghetti”
  • Kale Salad
  • Baked Winter Squash
  • Watermelon
Zoodles!

Zoodles!

Cafeteria Salmon + Salad

Cafeteria Salmon + Salad

Leave a Reply

