Day 2: Leftoverpalooza

My day started with an early morning workout at Steele.  I didn’t eat anything before I exercised, but according to the Whole 30 plan I am supposed to eat some protein and fat. My stomach doesn’t do well when I eat before I exercise first thing in the morning, but maybe I will try some egg whites next time- I hear they are easily digestible proteins.
 
Post-workout “meals” had been an issue for me.  I used to eat Think Thin High Protein Bars after strength training workouts because they were quick and easy . . .  but they also exacerbated my sugar cravings.  Why aren’t scrambled eggs available as grab-and-go bars without additives?? Please get to work on that, scientists!  Now that I’m doing a Whole 30 it has been good for me to eat real breakfasts, real protein in eggs and meat is much more satisfying than a protein bar…albeit not as convenient.
 
Day 2 was just as touch-and-go as Day 1.  I forgot to plan for a monthly board meeting after work, but fortunately the meeting is held in the Whole Foods on Hennepin Community Room, my favorite grocery store in Minneapolis.  I topped a salad bar salad with shredded chicken I brought from home and it was delish. Whole Foods has their ingredients listed on mixed salads and I discovered that the Detox Salad is Whole 30 compliant! I mixed that with other fresh veggies and some balsamic vinegar and raw pumpkin seeds.
 
How I feel:  Same as yesterday with the headache in the afternoon, somewhat tired, but otherwise pretty good.
 

What I ate:

Breakfast:
  • leftover veggie scramble with 1/4 baked sweet potato
Lunch:
  • leftover turkey taco meat with 3/4 sweet potato
  • side salad from cafeteria
Snacks during the day:
Dinner:
  • Whole Foods Salad Bar with Homemade Shredded Chicken
  • Banana with Almond Butter

Leftover Veggie Scramble with some Sweet Potato

Leftover Veggie Scramble with some Sweet Potato

Sweet Potato Turkey Mash and a Salad

Sweet Potato Turkey Mash and a Salad

Whole Foods Salad with the Gay Agenda!

Whole Foods Salad with the Gay Agenda!

 

Leave a Reply

