Day 1: Progress not Perfection

After weeks of reading, surfing the internet for blog posts and recipes, and experimenting with my meals, I finally started a Whole 30 program yesterday.

I had grand plans to cook the weekend before my Whole 30, but that didn’t pan out: I chickened out on making homemade beef jerky at the idea of hacking at a giant piece of raw meat. A pot roast was delayed by a busy weekend filled with out-of-town visitors and attending a wonderful wedding (and the best pre-Whole30 kickoff slice of cake I could dream of).

Pot Roast Fail

Pot Roast Fail

My meals weren’t as glamorous as I imagined due to my lack of preparation, but my first day went pretty well otherwise. After work I prepared a Mocha Rubbed Pot Roast for my slow cooker and easy eggs for dinner was all I could handle by the time that was done.

Unfortunately, in my eagerness to eat dinner I neglected to properly read the roast recipe: I cooked the roast on “high” instead of “low” and ruined it… so Day 2 will be a similar touch-and-go kind of day, without much prep.

I may be off to a rocky start but I have one day down, 29 to go!

How I feel: Pretty good from the neck downward: I successfully weaned myself off caffeinated coffee a few months ago, but I usually drink decaf…with creamer. Since creamer is a no-no, I decided to forgo coffee altogether. Bad plan. I hope Advil is Whole 30 compliant for this caffeine withdrawal headache…

What I ate:

Salad with Shredded Chicken

Salad with Shredded Chicken

Breakfast

  • Two hard-boiled eggs
  • Banana
  • A few almonds

Snacks during work

Lunch

  • Salad from my work cafeteria (spinach, bell peppers, cucumbers, tomato) topped with homemade shredded chicken. Dressing was just a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

Dinner

Egg and Veggie Scramble

Egg and Veggie Scramble

  • Egg Scramble with leftover turkey taco meat, bell peppers, onions, summer squash. I used ghee to sauté the veggies. Avocado on the side and Cholula hot sauce on top.
  • Apple with Almond Butter
Leave a Reply

